President's Awards

The administration of Virginia Commonwealth University established the President's Awards for VCU and VCU Health employees. These awards recognize and honor outstanding leadership, performance, achievement and service excellence. The awards are presented at the annual Service Awards ceremony and reception in October. Nominations for the 2018 awards will begin soon.

2017 President's Award winners

Below from left to right: Masters of Ceremony Scott Street, VCU Faculty Senate President and Lauren Katchuk, VCU Staff Senate President, Catherine Howard, Community Engagement (Award of Excellence), Jennifer Carmean, University Relations (Outstanding Achievement), Gregory Felton, University Policy (Outstanding Achievement), Konjit Chitty, Human Resources (Service Excellence), Ann Compton, Internal Medicine (Service Excellence) 



Award of Excellence

Kevin Harris, Office of the Vice President for Health Sciences

David Plunkett, Grants & Contracts

Candice Weber, School of Medicine, Dean's Office

Outstanding Achievement

Suzanne Bergamo Britt, Pediatrics

John Duke, VCU Libraries

Danise Harmon, School of Education, Dean's Office

Stephanie Hart, Psychology

Sania Marcoccia, Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

David Plunkett, Grants & Contracts

Susan Robb, Office of Research and Innovation

Service Excellence

Mary Ann Brock, Labor & Delivery

Jaime Brooks, Physical Therapy

Betty Chui, Surgical Services

Adriene Johnson, Occupational Therapy

Regena Mayo, Children's Hospital of Richmond at VCU

Gayle Meadows, Surgery

Katherine Mulloy, Internal Medicine

Patricia Perkins, Finance & Budget

Mary Beth Taormina, Safety & Risk Management

Kimberly Williams, Radiology

Past Winners

2016 Award Winners

President's Award of Excellence
Polly Cole
Community Health and Resources Administrator, Massey Cancer Center

President's Achievement Awards
Angela Flagg
Director of Communications, School of Nursing

Lisa Yamin
Liberal Studies for Early and Elementary Education

President's Service Excellence Awards

Jacqueline Kniska
University Compliance Officer, VCU Audit and Compliance Services

Denise Lynch
Program Coordinator, Medicine Administration, VCU Health

2015 Award Winners

President's Award of Excellence
Napoleon Peoples, Ph.D.
Associate Dean of Student Affairs

President's Achievement Awards
Amy Taloma
Director of Programs, Division for Health Sciences Diversity

Terrence Walker
Administrative Assistant, University Counseling Services

President's Service Excellence Awards
Thom Didato
Graduate Programs Advisor, English Department

Donald Howe
Senior Contract and Grant Administrator, Office of Research and Innovation

2014 Award Winners

President's Award of Excellence
Brian J. Ohlinger
Associate Vice President
Facilities Management (retired)

President's Outstanding Achievement Award
Nakeina Douglas-Glenn, Ph.D.
Grace E. Harris Leadership Institute

Daphne Long Rankin, Ph.D.
Associate Vice Provost
Strategic Enrollment Management

President's Service Excellence Award
Carmen H. Bell
Coordinator, Personnel and Administration
Division of Student Affairs (retired)

Katherine L. Poarch
VCUHS Strategy and Marketing
Past President, VCU Staff Senate

2013 Award Winners

President's Award of Excellence
Joseph A. Marolla, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Instruction and Student Success

President's Outstanding Achievement Award
Mary Lee C. Magee
Educational Director
Medicine and Population Health

Ingrid A. Mercer
Immigration Advising Coordinator
Global Education Office

President's Service Excellence Award
Ruth M. Trivelpiece
Program Coordinator
Center for Craniofacial Care

India D. Urbach
Administrative Coordinator
College of Humanities and Sciences